View of the first snowfall in my backyard neighborhood from my balcony

View of the first snowfall in my backyard neighborhood from my balcony

Winter has finally arrived! and I am officially not depressed until it starts to melt and be ugly again.

The average nights hoover around -15 C  and days around -10 C. However, the wind chill usually brings the days down to a real feel of about 4 F and nights to -4 F. This isn’t quite the worst I’ve survived in Michigan, but I know its going to get colder.

Last year, we had a few days under -30 C (-22 F) which meant school was canceled. We will see how many we have this time around.

My kitchen, new fridge, knife set & cutting board!

My kitchen, new fridge, knife set & cutting board

I celebrated the first snowfall by finally buying a new cutting board to compliment the knife set I inherited from a volunteer returning home. It is quite the upgrade from my landlady’s wooden, probably pre-soviet, cracked board. My school also found me a new fridge recently. My old one stopped working in September and I have been using my balcony as a cool box since then.

